Go for self-care and nurturing. Very grateful. Please dont even think about dating Remember con artists, users, and takers sense vulnerability. The MCMI-IV is an inventory designed to help assess, diagnose, and provide treatment options for individuals with personality disorders. Its better to calmly disengage than to show how they affect your emotions. They will blame you (their Target of Blame) for minor or non-existent offenses: You lied to me! The DSM-5 states that the essential feature is their willingness to disregard [or violate] the rights of others. From my experience in over 30 years dealing with legal cases, family conflicts, workplace disputes, and other situations as a high-conflict consultant, I would say that the driving force with sociopaths (and they have lots of energy) is to dominate others. How Psychologically Conditioned Rats Are Defusing Landmines, The Innate Intelligence Observed in the Dying Process. The sociopath sees any conflict as a game, and the more distressed you become, the higher they climax. it will be beyond painful. If you get in deep with a sociopath, you might be so manipulated that you start to question your own sanity. Anger is the main emotion sociopaths feel, so its common for sociopaths to express anger and rage and emotionally abuse their partners. The driving force for sociopaths is to dominate others. Try telling them you pity them, and you might be surprised. Perhaps you were. Want more security and untraceable options? Contacting them yourself can in some instances hurt your divorce case. The one-liner that makes usreel, things like: You only think you love me. Or,If you knew who I really was you wouldnt love me. Those strange things they say, those things that make us wonder what they mean are their truth and are who they really are. They are far more likely to be destructive liars and manipulators who play brutal Do you think you are involved with a narcissistic sociopath? Stay alert for red flags such as lying or ot